Historic Preservation Committee


The Historic Preservation Committee's role is to review applications for historic preservation status by property owners, and make recommendations to the City Council on applicant eligibility with the goal of preserving the historical heritage of Belvedere homes.

Homes that qualify for historic designation may be eligible for Mills Act property tax reductions.


At its July 2023 meeting, the City Council agreed to pause the City's Mills Act program because of various program shortcomings. It asked staff to develop a more precise program, including a review of homes currently benefitting from the program, and bring it back for Council consideration.


The Historic Preservation Committee comprises five members appointed by the City Council to serve four-year terms without term limits.

One Council Members is appointed annually by the Council as a non-voting liaison.

Current Members

  • George Gnoss, Chair: 6/30/202
  • Marshall Butler, Vice Chair: 6/30/2025
  • Terry Di Gangi: 6/30/2027
  • Robert Griffin: 6/30/2025
  • Mel Owen: 6/30/2025
  • Jane Cooper: Non-Voting Council Liaison

Meeting Schedule

The Historic Preservation Committee meets periodically whenever an application is filed. Meetings are held in Council Chambers at Belvedere City Hall, 450 San Rafael Avenue, Belvedere, CA 94920, and on Zoom.

Historic Preservation Committee Meetings are open to the public. Meeting agendas and staff reports ("the packet") are posted online on the Public Meetings page, where you can also find the archived agendas, packets, and meeting audios.

Close window